It takes more than courage to cure cancer

About Us

Event Finder

October 27, 2005
Jimmy Fund Honors WEEI's Glenn Ordway With Annual "Jimmy Award"

Mike Andrews (right) and Suzanne Fountain presenting Glenn Ordway with the 2005 Jimmy Award

Mike Andrews (right) and Suzanne Fountain presenting Glenn Ordway with the 2005 Jimmy Award

WEEI afternoon host Glenn Ordway, host of the wildly popular "Big Show," was presented with the prestigious 2005 Jimmy Award from Dana-Farber Cancer Institute on Thursday afternoon. The annual award is presented to an extraordinary celebrity or media member who has shown exceptional devotion to the mission of Dana-Farber over the years. Jimmy Fund chairman Mike Andrews presented the award to Ordway at the WEEI studio.

Ordway has been an ardent supporter of the Jimmy Fund for decades. He has used his status as an established New England radio personality to further the message of the Jimmy Fund and the mission of Dana-Farber. In recent years, he has been instrumental in elevating the profile of the WEEI/NESN Radio-Telethon, helping make it one of the Jimmy Fund's most successful annual fundraising events and the largest event of its kind in Boston history. The 2005 Radio-Telethon, held in August at Fenway Park, raised more than $2 million dollars.

"Glenn has been a true champion of the Jimmy Fund," said Mike Andrews. "He has used his platform to deliver the message of the important work we do at the Jimmy Fund to many thousands of individuals. The results have been tremendous and tangible. He has helped us raise millions of dollars, which have helped many, many children battling cancer."

I'm honored by this award, but the true honor is in working with such a distinguished and worthy organization," said Ordway. "I've had the privilege of visiting the Jimmy Fund Clinic at Dana-Farber on several occasions and it is a very moving and eye-opening experience. If I'm able to use my platform to help spread Dana-Farber's message and support the important work they're doing for those facing cancer, I consider myself fortunate."

The Jimmy Award was established in 1983 to honor individuals who have, over the years, committed themselves to the mission of Dana-Farber and the Jimmy Fund. These extraordinary honorees have demonstrated their dedication to cancer research and the care of children and adults across New England and beyond through their endless support, encouragement, guidance, and friendship. A list of past recipients is below:

The Jimmy Award

  • 2004: Richard Gedman, John Tudor
  • 2003: Tribute to Ken Coleman
  • 2002: Sean McDonough, Dan Shaughnessy
  • 2001: Paul La Camera
  • 2000: Ron Burton, Joe Morgan
  • 1999: Dom DiMaggio, Johnny Pesky, Ted Williams
  • 1998: Wally Brine, Loren Owens
  • 1997: Dan Williams, Dave Stenhouse, Sr.
  • 1996: Arnold Dean, Dave Madsen
  • 1995: Mike Lynch, Will McDonough
  • 1994: Walter Dropo, Bob Montgomery
  • 1993: Bill Lee, John Dennis
  • 1992: Dennis Lamp, Brian O'Connor*, Jim Rice
  • 1991: Tim Horgan, Diana Golden
  • 1990: Bob Stanley, Russ Gibson
  • 1989: John Havlicek, Jerry Moses
  • 1988: Eddie Andleman, Frank Malzone
  • 1987: Joe Cotter*, Jacque Hetrick*
  • 1986: Dick Flavin, Dick Radatz
  • 1985: Bob Cousy, Fred DiGregorio*, Jim Lonborg
  • 1984: Jess Cain, Mike Eruzione, K.C. Jones
  • 1983: Rico Petrocelli, Tom Heinsohn

*Special Jimmy Award for their contributions in establishing and building the Jimmy Fund Golf Program.